Title: Various Artists – Die Kind is nog Jonker A music tribute to Ingrid Jonker
Label:  Flamedrop / Sound Action
Cat#: FD002
Bar Code: 0700083970770
Country of release: South Africa
Year of release: 2016
Format: 2 CD


Ingrid Jonker is one of South Africa’s most celebrated (and tragic) poets. With the 50th commemoration of her death (committing suicide by drowning), her daughter is spearheading an exciting music project to not only reinvigorate her timeless words, but also preserving it via a wide range of artists spanning 5 decades of musicians (from legends to award winners). ?This release is set to change the perception of what Afrikaans music can be.

New life is breathed into Jonker’s moving, lyrical, inspiring, uplifting and passionate words, by a diverse range of local and international musicians, including veterans, established artists, imports, expatriates, award winners and some newcomers; the adaptations covering an invigorating scope of styles and moods, with a journey flowing through Pop, Rock, Acoustic, Blues, Folk, Ambient, Avant Garde, Electronic, Alternative, Metal, Punk and more.

Beyond the historic, literary and artistic significance of this anthology, it is also a capsule of current and past musicians (spanning generations from the ’70s to present), fusing new music with timeless words from over half a century ago, melding into new creations allowing both to live on, transcending time constraints.

Disc 1:
Ingrid Jonger & Tim Parr – Toemaar Die Donker Man
Ernestine Deane – Die Kind
Anton Goosen – ‘n Hemel Vol Blou Akkers (Plant Vir My ‘n Boom André)
Stefan Strydom (feat. Gert Vlok Nel) – Ingrid
Jennifer Ferguson – Windliedjie (live)
Abraham van GeenBybel – Donker Stroom
Rambling Bones – Summer (For Simone)
Falling Mirror – 25 December 1960
Andrew Kay – Fragment
Terminatryx – Ontvlugting
mike dickman – I Went In Search Of My Body
Tonia Möller – Man En Vrou
The Wilde Junge (Wild Youth) – Police Protection Guaranteed
André van Rensburg – Liedjie Van Die Troubadoer
The Slashdogs – Lied Van Die Grafgrawer
The Sighs Of Monsters – Drawing
Die Naaimasjiene – Mamma
Robbi Robb (feat. Amritakripa) – Face Of Love

Disc 2:
Inge Beckmann – Korreltjie Sand
Kalahari Surfers – Klein Hande
Jim Neversink – Bitterbessie Dagbreek
Beeskraal Revival – Verlore Stad
Daniel Eeuwrick (feat. Piet Botha) – Aan Uys Krige
Somerfaan – Ontnugtering
Anne Van Schothorst – Ek Het Gedink
Ivan Kadey – Tokolosh
Radio Rats – Deep Dark Introverted Girl
Francois Breytenbach Blom & Ingrid Jonker – Die Kind
Eckard Potgieter – Ontvlugting
Victor Wolf – Ballade Van Drie Vriende
The CapTn (feat. Julie Hartley) – Reclaimed Land
Juliana Venter – Hierdie Reis
Dirk Ace – Van ‘n Skilder
The McClones – I Am With Those
Mavis Vermaak – Heimwee Na Kaapstad
Zaria – Begin Somer

Additional information

Weight 0.12 kg